Skip to main content


By the 1890’s what we now call Australia was made up of six British colonies. They were all self-governing, with each having its own Parliament, its own Executive and its own Judiciary. In the final decade of the 19th century, the six colonies started to work on joining together. Over this period, delegates appointed and elected from the colonies created the Australian Constitution and system of government.